Ashley Greene on “Skateland”, acting and how she got her start

Ashley Greene is starring in the new film, Skateland.  It’s a coming of age story that also stars Shiloh Fernandez.

I’d never seen Ashley in anything other than the Twilight films so I was curious to see her in this while I was at SXSW. She plays a totally different character and she was great!

Ashley was incredibly sweet, I loved talking to her and if you’re a young actor you’ll love her answers.

Tell me about Skateland and your character in the film.

Ashley Greene: I play Michelle Burkham, and she is a bit of a love interest, really best friend to Richie Wheeler, and who is [played by] Shiloh Fernandez.  And Brent Burkham [Heath Freeman] is my brother, and we’re all this kind of trio in the film.  And it’s the 1980s small-town Texas.  And basically, it’s kind of this girl and this coming of age film and everyone’s trying to figure out who they are and what they’re doing, and I’m certainly one of those people.  But, I’m also one of the people that pushes Richie to find himself and grasp for higher things and she’s a great character to play.  She’s very vulnerable, very strong.  A lot of emotional ups and downs.

When you first look at a script and decide you want to do the part, how do you go about approaching a role?

Ashley: The first thing is, of course, reading the script and seeing if the script holds my attention and then more importantly, does the character… is it something I haven’t played before, and something that I actually care about and I’m passionate about.  I feel like if you’re reading a script and it doesn’t hold your attention and you don’t care about where these characters are going next and what they’re doing and you don’t care what they’re thinking and how they’re affected, then it really shouldn’t be something you’re doing because never ever doing I want to be in a film where I don’t care.  And so, I think that’s the biggest thing.  I think it’s kind of a gut thing and follow your heart and it works out.

Source : Stumbleupon

About senistudios

Hello my name is Inês and I'm 25 years and I love making videos about series and movies I Like. Here in this Blog will place links to these View all posts by senistudios

Leave a Reply

